FFfAW- The Bicycle with the Missing Rider

Posted: December 15, 2015 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Word Count: 150

photo-20151214095129364

I check back every day to see if the bike’s still there. It always is. It never moves.

I don’t know why I keep expecting it to be gone, why I keep expecting her to pedal by on it, smiling at me and asking why I was so worried.

“I’m fine,” she’ll say. “I just forgot to go back for my bike for a while. And I couldn’t call you because…”

Even in my head I can’t come up with reasonable explanations.

I told her not to go into that dingy grey building, but it was too much for the zoologist in her to resist.

“Sounds like a whole colony of bats,” she said.

When I told her about the shadowy man in the window, the one nobody ever saw in daylight, she laughed at me.

I hope she’s laughing now, somewhere safe, but deep down I know she isn’t.


This is my entry for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Check it out here!

It’s also a tie-in to LAS’s Vampire Week, a week-long celebration of bloodsucking monsters. This is being held to promote my friend and fellow blogger  Jaden C. Kilmer’s vampire YA novella, REVENANT, which is available on Amazon now for $1.50. It’s also free for Kindle Unlimited users.

US store UK store

Comments
  1. mandibelle16 says:

    This is a scary story. Can the man do anything, call the police and say my wife/girlfriend went missing in this building? Or is he scared of the man inside it. Scared he will hurt him or his woman if she is still alive. Something very sinister went on there. I hope the lady is okay but like the man I think she is suffering or is dead. Great story. You capture fear and mystery well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great mystery story! Now, if only we knew whether she is safe or not because it doesn’t sound too good for her. Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joy Pixley says:

    Ooh, a very chilling story – well done! Very effectively conveys that sense of loss and wondering what happened.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wish he’s a vampire too. Then he could save her and show her what a vampire is capable of. They are not just plain bats. Great story! 🙂 Wish there’s a continuation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Voice says:

    Good story. I think this is one of my favorites from all the submission. You really went in a different direction than anyone else and it paid off. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Alixa says:

    Very intriguing, the tension is palpable. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like the mystery element. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

