FFfAW- What do you see?

Posted: December 29, 2015 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

This is my entry for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Photo credit to Sonya from the blog “Only 100 Words.” A big thanks to her for the picture and to Priceless Joy for running the challenge.

photo-20151228061913907

Word Count: 150

We met under the tower every night as the moonlight cast strange shadows and the gulls cawed overhead.

I always thought the tower looked a bit like a turnip on stilts, but I didn’t tell Miranda that. It wouldn’t have been a particularly romantic comment. She had told me it reminded her of Christmas, the dark green conical thing like a metal tree. She thought the thing on top looked like a star.

My brother told me he thought it looked like a spaceship escape module, coming in to land, filed with heroic astronauts returning home. They’d seen things no one had ever seen, found things no one had ever found, and now they were back.

Sometimes I look at it and I can see that or the Christmas tree. Mostly, though, I see the turnip.

We could find out what is really is, but where’s the fun in that?

 

Comments
  1. Sonya says:

    Heh, I like turnip on stilts! I could tell you, but that would ruin the fun 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    I like how you write about something true to life: everyone standing around and wondering what something is, in this case the water tower. My first thought was a Hershey’s kiss, with ugly green paper. Great job.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You’re right! It does look like a turnip! Great story! I like how you leave it to the characters imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with your sentiment. It more fun to imagine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. samratkel says:

    Love this flit of imagination, brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rogershipp says:

    “I always thought the tower looked a bit like a turnip on stilts, but I didn’t tell Miranda that. It wouldn’t have been a particularly romantic comment.” My favorite line!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

