FFfAW- Just Bones

Posted: January 5, 2016 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

photo-20160104141846369

Word Count: 146

It was impossible for the skeleton to move. There were no muscles, no sinews, just bones bolted together. I knew that.

But I couldn’t help having the feeling that it did. I’d catch a flash of movement out of the corner of my eye, a twitch of a white hand. I’d hear the bones jangling together. I’d hear the patter of bony toes on the rough tiled floor.

And overtime I’d turn around and there he’d be, standing just where he was, smiling innocent as can be. Those empty sockets looked like the eyes of a child who’d gotten away with stealing candy from the jar.

I kept telling myself that he was just a load of old bones I bought on the Internet, but every night, when the lights in the classroom were low and I was all by myself, I knew that he wasn’t.


 

This is my entry for this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Check out the prompt here! The picture was provided by Pixabay.com.

Comments
  1. Jon Stephens says:

    Creepy. What happens next?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Great take. It would definitely be scary to have a skeleton that moves in your classroom. Especially, at night.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can just imagine this skeleton moving around behind the person’s back and looking so strangely innocent when he gets caught. LOL!! I think he got more than old bones off the internet! hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very good take on the prompt. I like ” the patter of bony toes on the tiled floor. ” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. justmaria says:

    I think Mr. Skeleton just want to make friends! Haha. But I wouldn’t want him in the same room either. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. afairymind says:

    That sounds like a very creepy skeleton! I hope it’s just his imagination but I fear it’s not… Great story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Alixa says:

    It’s like Toy Story, only creepy! Love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. rogershipp says:

    I thin it it time to sell it back… Go to ebay immediately!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

