FFfAW– Ghost Town

Posted: January 12, 2016 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Word Count: 150

photo-20160111132111179

The Saloon was empty when John entered. The pool table sat untouched, the little balls just sitting with out purpose where they’d last been.

Sitting down at the bar, John listened for the slightest hint of movement. He heard nothing.

“What can I get you?” a man asked, appearing silently. He wore black, like an undertaker.

“Just water,” John said. “Where is everyone?”

“Hard to say, exactly. If one were inclined to dramatics, they might say they’ve all been banished to hell.” He grinned and put down John’s glass of water. “But I ain’t inclined to dramatics.”

John looked back to see six figures in black guarding the doors. Silver pistols glistened on their belts.

“Why don’t I take you to meet them?” the man asked. “Don’t bother resisting. You ain’t got a gun.”

John smiled. “Never needed one.”

The man became something else, but John was ready for him.


This is my response to this week’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers prompt. A big thanks to Etol Bagam for providing the photo and to Priceless Joy for running the challenge.

 

 

Comments
  1. mandibelle16 says:

    Intriguing story. I wonder exactly what happened to all the others in the bar, did they actually go to Hell? And the silver guys John is ready to defeat? What are they. Are they going to take him to hell?
    Well written an engaging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! This was one of those times where I tried to pack a lot into a short flash fiction, so all I could really downs give a brief look at the scene I’d imagined. I don’t think it was literally Hell, but there was something supernatural going on, and the guys and man weren’t human. Actually, I’m kind of tempted to expand this one into a short story or something…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sonya says:

    Sooo intriguing. Love the last line!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Etol Bagam says:

    Nice. I like how it ends. John seems to be very good in whatever he does. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I considered leaving it with a more “horror” ending where he just gets attacked, but I thought it would be more fun to make an even fight of it. Perhaps John even manages to get away and save the others who vanished.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I too am intrigued – the man changed into something else. I could imagine that he turned into the devil and John was going to have to fight him in order to release the other people! Great story that stimulates the imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ameena k.g says:

    I could picture the scene with a smirk grin on John’s face as he said that last line. They sure didn’t know what was coming for them. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Alixa says:

    Ooooh, this reminded me of Supernatural 😀 Totally loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Martin Flux says:

    This could lead anywhere. I really like that you don’t give us everything on the silver platter. My kind of story! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. If this were an introduction to a longer piece or perhaps a dust jacket I would be intrigued. As it is I felt frustrated that there were more questions unanswered than answered. But perhaps I am just being a lazy reader.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

