The Thing in the Snow – Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner

Posted: January 15, 2016 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

snow

We were within a mile-and-a-half of the service roads when we found it.

The wind howled around us, shrieking like it was full of ghosts. I did my best to dismiss that image from my mind. This was a time for professionalism, not superstition. I had to keep my mind clear and focused.

There, buried amidst the white snow and jagged grey rocks, was the body, frozen solid. Frost wrapped tight around leathery muscles and skin.

Some people would have thought that it was only days old, but my team and I knew better. Extremes preserve corpses remarkable well. Dry heat gives us the Egyptian mummies. Cold like this gave us Ötzi the Iceman.

This body had been here for thousands of years, recently exposed by shifts in the snow.

“Secure the area,” I ordered. “We don’t want anyone seeing this.”

“What is it?” one of the team asked.

“I don’t know,” I admitted. “But it certainly isn’t human.”


Word Count: 146

This is my second entry for Flash Fiction For The Purposeful Practitioner, which is run by rogershipp. Follow the link to see the prompt and other entries. Image is from http://publicdomainarchive.com/public-domain-images-mountains-snow-birds-white-black-grey-fog/. 

 

Comments
  1. rogershipp says:

    I knew it was going to be an alien… I could just sense it!
    “The wind howled around us, shrieking like it was full of ghosts. I did my best to dismiss that image from my mind. This was a time for professionalism, not superstition.” Loved those lines!

    Great job. I enjoyed it! Thanks for participating in Week #3. Hope to see you next week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Interesting. Could be a lot of things. An alien? Big foot? A cave man? Interesting ending and well written.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful story! I think it is a pre-human being – our earliest ancestors. What a wonderful find and a wonderful story!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sonya says:

    Chilling, on so many levels! Great take on the prompt 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello JA I did your take on this image, are we to discover what it was?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I think that even the researchers don’t know what it is when they find it. Other than “not human,” I wanted to leave it ambiguous. Alien, Yeti, Bigfoot, ancient human, other monster… there’s a lot of possibilities.

      Like

  6. Jon Stephens says:

    Spooky or intriguing … Not sure which. I wonder what they will discover.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Graham Lawrence says:

    Nice take and interesting direction full of promise and possibility.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I could hear the scary music! Yep, an alien! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The Voice says:

    Nice story. Since you only used 146 of the 200 word limit, I kind of wish you’d written just a bit more to heighten the drama/suspense. Perhaps the protagonist spotted the creature holding something in its frozen hand like a human arm or a modern device like an iPhone, or maybe it was found next to some kind of alien ship.. Still, it was a fun read. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Loved it, great discovery with so many possibilities if you chose to extend it. But that’s also why flash fiction is fun – it’s a story as is!

    http://yolandarenee.blogspot.com/2016/01/doppelganger.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

