FFftPP – In My Defense

Posted: June 1, 2016 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

alligators

“It was instinct. I just let go of them.”

That was what I said when people start screaming and my boss grabbed me, asking “What the Hell happened? What did you do?”

It was what I told Animal Control when they started yelling at me.

It also forms the core of my legal defense. I have decided to represent myself, since nobody else is quite as capable of understanding the sheer, instinctive fear I felt in that moment.

Am I legally responsible for the three deaths and twelve hospitalizations? I don’t think so. I just did what anybody would have done in that situation.

Technically, yes, I was in charge of the alligators. Or crocodiles. I can never tell them apart.

Yes, I had… exaggerated the extent of my experience with animals to get the job.

But the way they growled… I think anyone could be forgiven for dropping the leashes and all his equipment, forgetting he’d left the habitat door open, and running for his life while crying like a little girl.

Your honor, the defense rests.


Word Count: 169

This is for this week’s Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner. Thanks to rogershipp for running the challenge!

Comments
  1. swritings says:

    Brilliant! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Haha. If only he’d shut the gate. I think it would have been okay. Nice write!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Graham Lawrence says:

    Nice take for what is a topical subject this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That certainly made me smile 🙂 not sure that would stand up in court though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Voice says:

    I have a feeling he’s not going to win his case. Nice story! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. luckyjc007 says:

    LOL’s You never know what your reaction will be in such a situation, until it happens! Great take on the prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

