photo-20170313154657842

Green leaf and emerald vine came together in thick curtains, wet with dripping rainwater. The air was thick with swirling clouds of vapor. My boots sunk deep into the undergrowth and wet mud, squelching.

I’d been here for years, wandering through this green hell. It had been an accident โ€“ a plane dropping from the sky like a stone, engines trailing thick smoke.

I was the lone survivor. For years I hadn’t seen another living thing. I’d become a castaway, stranded amidst trees and chattering birds, learning to hunt, to forage, to survive.

I swept the curtain of green away and stepping into the clearing. There it was, the glinting shape that had drawn me here.

A car. Ancient, rusted, useless.

It was the first sign of human civilization I’d seen in years.

I put my hand on the cold, rusting metal and began to cry.


Word Count: 145

This is for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Thanks to Priceless Joy for running the challenge and Tim Livingston for providing the prompt photo!

Comments
  1. Tessa says:

    Fantastically well written. I could feel his or her anguish.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to ask where you find these photos to accompany your writing!?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely wonderful story, J.A.! I felt like I was right there among the growth. Such a touching ending. The person found signs of humans after being lost in the growth for a very long time. That would probably make me cry too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Iain Kelly says:

    Great take. I hope the civilization isn’t too far off and they are friendly when she finds them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jade M. Wong says:

    Oh wow, the relief at seeing the car rushed over me as well when I read this. Very provoking piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. michael1148humphris says:

    I would cry, as I felt that I was doing the walking. Well done

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A very touching story.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynn Love says:

    Wow. A deep well of loneliness and despair you plumbed there. I like the surreal idea of a car dumped in the jungle, miles from any town or village. Nicely done, J.A

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brilliantly haunting tale of someone lost hoping that one day they are going to be found. Let’s hope this is a sign ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. James says:

    Too bad there wasn’t an old road that would lead back to civilization.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ameena k.g says:

    Awwww, what an amazing story. I absolutely felt for the main character

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Chris C. says:

    I can only imagine how he felt having been away from human civilization for so long! A haunting story.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Vaidehi Soni says:

    Tears of joy!Great story ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. goroyboy says:

    J.A. I love the “squelching” of the boot in the mud. I had noticed the rust as well. Thinking of as children we used to play around a deserted rusted table saw with a giant blade. Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. yarnspinnerr says:

    Lovely take on this difficult prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. luckyjc007 says:

    A wonderful and emotional story. Just a hint of the possibility of his quest for returning to what he once knew and lived gives a great sense of hope for him.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This is great. Now, the question is if there is still any civilization left.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Absolutely beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Brilliantly written. Could feel the despair and anguish.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Mary P says:

    My pleasure Just a hint of the possibility of his quest for returning to what he once knew and lived gives a great sense of hope for him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

