A Terrible Mistake

Posted: April 12, 2017 by J.A. Prentice in Flash Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

dale-rogerson-pizza

Lily gave Mark a look of disdain. There was, he thought, an art in the way she curled her lip.

“It’s not really my fault,” he said.

“All right.” Lily sat down. “Explain. I’m a fan of absurdist fiction.”

“You could have left a note. ‘Do Not Eat. This is for the party.’ I came in and saw a pizza. What was I to do?”

“Put a little effort into restraining your gluttony,” Lily replied.

“It was one piece.”

“And it was one bullet that killed Lincoln.”

“But–”

Lily glared and Mark knew he’d be off to buy another pizza.


Word Count: 100

This is for Friday Fictioneers. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for running the challenge and Dale Rogerson for providing the prompt photo!

(See? I can be normal sometimes.)

Comments
  1. Iain Kelly says:

    Come on, it’s pizza, can you blame him?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Ha, great fun. I will be using the phrase absurdist fiction in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My sympathy is with poor Mark here. She sounds like the “I can’t be wrong so it’s always your fault” type.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Wynn says:

    Excellent. If I was him I’d cut my losses now and get down the pizza shop

    Liked by 1 person

  5. amiewrites74 says:

    I love the phrase “absurdist fiction!” Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rogershipp says:

    Loved “absurdist fiction”. Enjoyed the read. Quite a to-do over a slice?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dale says:

    I’m with everyone! Absurdist fiction is a term I shall be using from now on every time my boys give me some hogwash story….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

