sandra-crook-1

The guards shut the Palace gates tight and barricaded them with whatever they could find: antique chairs, president portraits, vases. The roar of the crowd was deafening.

“It’s all right,” the President-For-Life said, waving a hand. “The people love me. All these revolutionaries… They’re all being paid. They’re actors.”

“Then they’re actors with guns,” a guard replied.

“I have a plan,” the President-For-Life announced. “A great plan. You’re all going to run out there and hold them off while I go out through the back.”

The guard sighed, pulled his gun, and shot the President-For-Life.

Viva la Revolution,” he muttered.


This is for Friday Fictioneers. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for running the challenge and Sandra Crook for providing the prompt photo!

Comments
  1. Iain Kelly says:

    The guard made me laugh, nonchalant assassin!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. James says:

    Gee, I wonder who that was a parody of? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, that was a simple solution. It was no doubt called an execution, not murder. Good writing, J.A. ๐Ÿ™‚ — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  4. michael1148humphris says:

    I hope that the guard does not get appointed to the vacant job.๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  5. That changes things. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Liz Young says:

    If only … excellent bit of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    I’m with Iain I liked the nonchalant guard. Maybe it shouldn’t have but this made me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Not not much life left… vive la president.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. athling2001 says:

    Always wanted to see such a practical solution:)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. amiewrites74 says:

    I love the guard. He made me laugh at the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Someone give that guard a beer!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dale says:

    I couldn’t help but laugh myself…. and maybe… no, never mind…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

